Darguth paints Dorfs

Our newborn son is finally through a nasty sleep regression, so I finally have a small bit of free time in the evenings. The pending AOF:R rulebook has inspired me to try and put together a fully painted 1k list. I’ve been playing Warhammer for almost 30 years and don’t have “fully painted” anything, really. So this is a big goal for me! Hopefully it’ll build some momentum I can build on to go beyond just 1k. (Contrast paints are a big motivator for me to actually make some progress, too, so they’ll be featured heavily.)

The List

Rune Master [75]

• Great Weapon

Elites x10 [260]

• Command Group

Warriors x10 [110]

• Command Group
  • Great Weapons

Warriors x10 [110]

• Command Group
  • Great Weapons

Marksmen x5 (50)

Marksmen x5 (50)

Attack Helicopter (250)

• Attack Bomb

Cannon (95)

Total: 1,000

1 Like

Day 1 - Proof-of-Concept
Used a member of the Cannon crew as a proof-of-concept model for color tests. My dwarfs are from the Hold of Karak Hirn, so their primary color will be green (Ork Flesh Contrast) and their major secondary color will be brown (Snakebite Leather Contrast).

2 Likes

Day 2 - Small Goals!
Nothing finished, but made progress (which is still a big accomplishment for me!) trying to “batch” paint the remaining crew and my Runesmith. Got most of the Contrast colors down. Waiting on some new Vallejo Air metallics to arrive to finish the rest and do the basing.

Contrast paints and Dwarf beards are a match made in heaven :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Contrast paints are awesome for stuff like this. I don’t understand why gw promotes them on primaris mainly. They are the worst possible application of contrast paints. Beards, scales etc is where they truly shine

I’m pretty sure GW has long lost the capability to effectively promote anything that isn’t a part of their latest Space Marine release.

I just tried black contrast paint yesterday and to my surprise it’s actually quite awesome. This one even works on a space marine