FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Core Engine

If a unit with Regeneration is hit by a weapon with Deadly(X), how many Regeneration rolls does it get?

It rolls one Regeneration roll for each wound, so a total of X times.

Do extra hits from poison use a weapon’s other special rules?

Yes, for example if a weapon has Poison and AP(X) then the extra hits also have AP(X).

What is the difference between Blast(X) and Deadly(X)?

When taking hits from Blast(X) you roll X dice to block and take 1 wound for each failed block, whereas when taking hits from Deadly(X) you roll 1 dice to block and take X wounds for each failed block.

When replacing weapons what’s the difference between replace one/any/all/up to X?

  • If the list says “replace one weapon”, then only one model can replace its weapon, and you have to pay the cost for that model.
  • If the list says “replace any weapon”, then as many models as you want can replace their weapons, and you pay the cost for each model that did.
  • If the list says “replace all weapons”, then all models must replace their weapon, and you pay the cost only once for all models.
  • If the list says “replace up to X weapon”, then up to X models can you can replace their weapons, and you pay the cost for each model that did.

When buying upgrades what’s the difference between upgrade one/any/all models?

  • If the list says “upgrade one model”, then only one model can buy the upgrade, and you have to pay the cost for that model.
  • If the list says “upgrade any model”, then as many models as you want can buy the upgrade, and you pay the cost for each model that was upgraded.
  • If the list says “upgrade all models”, then buying the upgrade applies it to all models, and you pay the cost only once for all models.

When buying upgrades what’s the difference between upgrade with one/any/up to X?

  • If the list says “upgrade with one”, then you can only buy one upgrade from the list.
  • If the list says “upgrade with any”, then you can buy any upgrade once from the list.
  • If the list says “upgrade with up to X”, then you can buy any upgrade up to X times from the list (even multiple times).

Grimdark Future & Age of Fantasy

For the purpose of morale tests from when is the “total size or tough value” counted?

The total size or tough value is counted at the beginning of the game.

Example: If a unit with 10 models loses 5 models, you must take a morale test. From then on it will have to take a morale test whenever it loses models because it is at 50% or below of its starting size (counted at the beginning of the game).

Does a unit that is “idle” still have to be activated? What can it do?

Units that are idle still have to be activated, and they may not do anything during that activation.

Do models with Aircraft that are Pinned still have to move 18"-36"?

Yes.

Can units with Psychic/Wizard cast spells from within a transport?

Yes.

Can a Psychic/Wizard target himself or his own unit when casting spells?

Yes.

Is there any bonus to charging a unit in its flank/rear? (AoF Regiments)

No, you don’t get a bonus to your melee results for charging a unit in the flank/rear. Instead units can only attack in their front facing, so if you charge a unit in its flank/rear you don’t get return strikes.

Firefight & Skirmish

Does a model with Tough(X) have to roll on the wound table for each wound it takes?

No, the model only rolls on the wound table once it has taken X wounds.

Can I use units such as vehicles and chariots from Grimdark Future/Age of Fantasy in Firefight/Skirmish?

Yes, however they might not be very balanced.