Just a quick question on the new rule for melee where a model can only fight in melee once per turn. Does this mean that when any additional enemies move in and attack a model after it has already fought an enemy in melee this turn, they roll to attack as normal, but the defending model does not get to strike back if it survives?
Will make a great difference in fights like Eternal Wardens vs. Orcs, as the change of things like warriors being dropped from groups of 3 to single models, made attacking even a single Liberator into a meatgrinder, where the Liberator got to strike back at every attacker. Now there's a benefit to ganging up, as the first attacker is the (likely) sacrifice, and every model that moves in after him won't have to worry about being attacked back with three attacks (or more).
That had been a big source of frustration in games after the last change.
Is that correct?
Last Edit: May 12, 2019 13:42:21 GMT by aegisgrimm
That's correct, the unit only gets to fight the first time and then can't strike back anymore if it survives.
This rule change was made exactly to try and balance out the type of situation that you are talking about, because being able to strike back an infinite number of times was giving units a lot of extra attacks which they didn't pay for. In any case even with this change we don't really expect this situation to happen too often, though of course that kind of depends on your local meta.
Well, it will certainly give my usual gaming partner less grief when I choose to field Eternal Warriors, that's for sure, lol. They were an especially guilty culprit of the old melee style, as their survivability + multiple attacks made them especially vicious (although an Ogre force was probably nearly the same situation). I remember how our first game saw 4 Eternal Warriors easily handle a force of 12+ Orcs without much worry, and that was with things like Warriors and Archers having units of 3 models. Now I'll have to worry about all the boyz piling in on one opponent, which seems better balanced, even if I am the defender.
I’m sorry to dig up this old post, but I played my first game of Aof Skirmish yesterday and the rules have changed since then, haven’t they? Now, units may strike back multiple times but they only hit on unmodified rolls of 6, right? And by the way, does the special effects like Poison, for example, are always active in these conditions?
Yup, my post was about an old version of the rules. Models can indeed strike back now but only on 6's, which still works better than the even older edition, where models struck back at full capability every time they were attacked and survived, which made models with multiple attacks and Tough absolute beasts!
Post by slowmvngtarget on Feb 6, 2020 14:22:58 GMT
I just wanted to clarify - if the unit hasn’t performed any melee attacks during the current round, they strike back at their normal Quality. Any strike-backs AFTER their first melee only hit on a 6 until a new round begins. At least that’s how the rules read to me.