|
Post by garthbo on Aug 31, 2020 4:03:49 GMT
Hey all -
The final paragraph of the Aircraft special rule on pg. 14 reads... My question is - do Aircraft even take “normal” Actions? They obviously can’t take a Hold action (they have to move) and Charge actions really don’t apply - they cannot fight in melee. So... is the intent that an aircraft can either take an Advance action (moving a full 18” then firing it’s weapons) ...or it can take a Rush action - moving a full 36” with no shooting?
Any answers or clarifications are welcome. 👍🏻😀 - G
|
|
|
Post by onepageanon on Aug 31, 2020 11:41:54 GMT
With Aircraft you basically always take take Advance actions, moving between 18" and 36" and shooting.
|
|
|
Post by garthbo on Aug 31, 2020 16:25:39 GMT
With Aircraft you basically always take take Advance actions, moving between 18" and 36" and shooting. Excellent. Thanks, yet again. Correct me if I’m wrong... given the way Advance actions work (Move and *then* fire), if the aircraft is 18+” from the table edge it’s moving toward it won’t be able to shoot that turn. thanks again! - G
|
|
|
Post by onepageanon on Aug 31, 2020 20:49:05 GMT
That's correct, if the Aircraft is within 18" of a table edge it will fly off and won't be able to shoot.
|
|
|
Post by psychic on Sept 13, 2020 20:04:53 GMT
That's correct, if the Aircraft is within 18" of a table edge it will fly off and won't be able to shoot. Hm this made me very unsure if I have played aircraft correctly. The way we've played it is: Aircraft is like a normal unit, in can turn before flying any amount of degrees, then flies in a straight line 18-36". So it would never fly off an edge. If I understand you correctly: Aircrafts fly in a straight line, when it is less than 18" from a table edge it flies off and enters on any edge (forfeit action). In essence it cannot turn except when it reenters the battlefield? If that's correct I think you need to claritfy aircraft special rule honestly
|
|
|
Post by onepageanon on Sept 13, 2020 21:00:05 GMT
"When activated this model must always move 18”-36” in a straight line, and if it goes off-table then its activation ends and it may be placed back on any table edge."
We never mention that you can turn before flying, and the rules imply that you'll eventually fly off the edge because you're going in a straight line.
|
|
|
Post by psychic on Sept 14, 2020 20:35:39 GMT
"When activated this model must always move 18”-36” in a straight line, and if it goes off-table then its activation ends and it may be placed back on any table edge." We never mention that you can turn before flying, and the rules imply that you'll eventually fly off the edge because you're going in a straight line. Yes straight line! But a straight line from what point? Obviously you mean the way the model is presumably pointing. But this line could be drawn from any side of the model. I'm not trying to do a strawman here, I just try to convey how the current rule "aircraft" can be missinterpreted (and was by me). It has a huge impact on how effective an aircraft is on the battlefield. Adding a "model may not turn during its activation" would've made it more clear to me for an example.
|
|
|
Post by Wyloch on Sept 14, 2020 22:52:44 GMT
Yeah I must say, we have never played a game with an Aircraft unit, but I had always assumed it meant you pick a direction and then move at least 18" in that direction....thus, flying off the edge would be a strategic decision on your part...
|
|
|
Post by onepageanon on Sept 15, 2020 6:56:49 GMT
Hmmm... ok, I'll have to see the best way to clarify that whilst remaining concise. Thanks for the feedback! 
|
|
|
Post by simplecircle on Mar 21, 2022 12:21:10 GMT
What happens if an aircraft is targeted by a move "spell" or ability (AH 'pheromones' for example) , does it move? If so, would it still have to move along the same straight line? If it does move along the same line, what happens if the movement takes it off the board edge? Would you immediately set it up on another board edge, even though it isn't the aircraft's turn? Would this be a legit way of avoiding a lost turn of shooting if the aircraft had already been activated earlier this turn?
|
|
|
Post by pclark4422 on Apr 3, 2022 13:41:28 GMT
What happens if an aircraft is targeted by a move "spell" or ability. I'm also kind of curious how the interaction would play out between these kind of abilities. It appears like they can allow some things that seem like they weren't intended.
For example, targeting a Light Dropship with Guerilla Tactics. Since the aircraft rule reads the "must move in a straight line without turning" clause technically doesn't apply since the movement is occurring outside of the aircraft's activation. This would allow the aircraft to move laterally or backwards 6", or even change direction. Along with simplecircle's example, these seem like perfectly legal maneuvers that allow for more tactical options for aircraft, but outside the spirit of the aircraft rule.
Are these a clever utilization of abilities for a unique tactical advantage or being gamey with a system that isn't intended to be robust and airtight?
Also there is a discrepancy in some of the wording between the rule books.
This makes a difference in that we're currently talking about abilities that target aircraft. If we use the Basic Rules wording, it allows aircraft to become practical targets for a whole host of abilities that target, but don't shoot, at units without any penalty (psychic abilities, Demon symbols, guerilla tactics, etc). If we use the Core Rules wording though, that limits what can affect an aircraft considerably since relatively few non-weapon abilities have ranges beyond 12".
|
|
|
Post by kingnothing on May 4, 2022 22:04:34 GMT
As a HDF that plans on using Vultures, I definitely would like some clarification on these rulings.
|
|