A fairly long list of rules questions Sept 21, 2020 13:43:53 GMT
Post by isa on Sept 21, 2020 13:43:53 GMT
Reading through the rules and army books, I've come across a quite few questions I'd love to have clarified. I'll number them to make them easier to respond to, and I apologise if some of this seems nitpicky, I do think i can infer intent on some of these rules, but I think it would help me and serve the game as a whole if they were clarified.
Also I apologise that my 4th or 5th post on this board is already my second thread.
1. The Impact rule refers to models with the special rule, but some weapons have it as well, like laser spears of the high elf jetspears. Do the weapon's other special rules, such as AP apply to Impact hits made with it? (I assume the model's own impact rule does not benefit from any of its weapons)
2. Is it intentional that Fast and Very Fast units still can't charge units that are more than 12" away? (they can make charge moves greater than 12", but according to the charge rules only units within 12" are valid targets)
3. The Alien Hive Burrower's Surprise Attack rule is worded a little strangely. Does it mean if the burrower comes on via Ambush that it has to be places within 3" of an enemy unit, or that it can ignore the 9" minimum distance rule in normal ambush if you set it up within 3" of an enemy unit?
4. The Pheromones rule (also alien hives) states that a unit given pheromones gets a +1 bonus to their next morale test. It doesn't say that this bonus goes away at any other point (like at the end of a round). So am I interpreting it correctly that if a unit that received pheromones keeps them until the end of the game if it never makes a morale test (same for Shrouding Mist, if the unit never gets shot at)? And if so, does the bonus stack, if the unit received pheromones multiple times before it had to make a morale test?
5.a) Can more than one Hero start the game as part of the same unit?
b) Can the hero be attached to a single-model unit, like a tank or walker?
c) What about another Hero?
6.a) If a unit attempts a charge that doesn't bring it into base contact with a unit (because they have to move through difficult terrain or they are Slow for instance) what happens? Does the charging unit still move as close as possible or does it not move at all? Can it declare such a charge at all?
b) Does the target unit still have to make the 3" move to attempt to bring models into base contact or as close as possible to the charger?
7.a) When a unit with Sniper picks a model with Tough from a unit that otherwise consists of models without Tough as its target, does the Tough model actually take wounds or are the wounds accumulated on those other models instead?
b) What about a target unit with multiple Tough models in which a model other than the chosen target has already accumulated wounds?
c) If a unit with Sniper picks a single model from a unit as its target and causes more unblocked wounds than are necessary to kill that model, do the excess wounds spill over to the rest of the unit or are they wasted?
8. a) when a unit is deployed within a Transport at the beginning of a game, do the Transport and embarked units count as a single "drop" during deployment, or do you deploy the Transport individually and then when its your next turn to deploy a unit, place that unit inside the Transport?
b) if a Transport has Ambush, can you put a unit inside it when putting it into reserves? As with a), does that count as a separate unit deployed or are they a single "drop"
9. a) When a unit disembarks from a Transport from where do you measure the 6" they can move? Do you place the models in contact with the transport and then move them up to 6" or do you measure from the transport.
b) If a unit disembarks via a Charge action, how do you measure the range of valid charges? From the Transport or from the unit's models after placing them in contact with the transport?
10. If a Relentless unit has more than one ranged weapon, do extra attacks from Relentless have to be made with the same weapon that generated them or can they be made with another?
11. The Immobile rule states the unit can never move regardless of which action it takes. What if it is forced to move by other means that are not its action, such as being charged?
That's all I have for now, if I find more I will post the questions here and not start yet another thread.