In our last game we had an unclear situation: a ghost wizard used a dread spell on a stunned Hexed Knight with a nearby enemy. The Knight then proceded to make the charge appling the Impact(1) and Spectral Touch (since he was able to fly over the enemy). At the table we ruled that he was able to charge since it wasn't his activation, but that he was unable to attack ad would be auto killed if the enemy was not stunned.
Here is the text of the spell and the special rule: Dread (4+): Target friendly unit within 12” may immediately charge by up to 3”. Spectral Touch: Whenever this unit moves over enemies pick one of them and roll 3 dice, for each 2+ it takes 2 hits with AP(1).
My questions are: 1) can a stunned unit be targeted by a spell that makes it move or charge? 2) does it count as his next Activation, so it must stay idle but it then clear its stunned status? 3) if it does not count as an activation, can it uses abilities like Spectral Touch during it's Movement? 4) if it is a charge, can it apply Impact hits and/or attack? 5) is the unit automatic knocked out if they complete the charge? If the enemy is also stunned are they both knocked out?
Last Edit: Jun 17, 2021 6:24:44 GMT by federebus: Grammar
Best guess is that the spell turned the unit into a puppet of some sort, which allowed it to charge. However, once the spell drops, the unit is still stunned until it takes an action to shake off the stun.
First let me tell you this was an absolute pleasure and wildly exciting rule question. Now on to the answer!
1. Yes I since the wording for spells targeting friendly units and enemy units are basically identical if you can target a stunned enemy unit you must be able to target a stunned friendly one. 2. Please No!!! That would allow two wizards to theoretically cast it on each other continuously since they can cast a spell on their activation anytime before their attack. I hope we can all agree improbable infinite loops and for sure time wasting tactics are worse than this just not counting as an activation. Plus the spell only says charge not activate and charge. 3. Charge is a movement so yes Spectral Touch applies during this and any Charge with this unit. 4. It is a Charge and therefore must apply Impact in this case like with all other Charges from this unit. 5. The Hexed Knight is not automatically knocked out by charging (only if it got charged)and models can only charge if they can move far enough that they can be in base contact with the charge target so I don't know what you mean by complete the charge. If the charge target is also stunned they have been Charged and thus "they are Knocked Out immediately, without needing to check wounds." and the Stunned Hexed Knight Consolidates 3" (potentially flying over and Spectral Touching another enemy model).
Bonus Credit!!! A. The Hexed knight not only should apply Impact and Spectral Touch but should have gotten all his attacks because stunned doesn't actually keep you from attacking just from doing anything on your next activation, hold/contesting/capturing, passing moral tests, etc... B. This is the most exciting part for me personally... If the defending unit hadn't gotten stunned or knocked out... They would still have to try and retaliate like normal and our Hexed Knight would still get to Roll to Block and Regeneration. How you ask? Well the rules say "if they take any hits from shooting, or are charged again, then they are Knocked Out immediately, without needing to check wounds." which only mentions charging and shooting not retaliating which is completely different.