Human Defense Force questions Oct 8, 2021 23:15:31 GMT
Post by Xcapobl on Oct 8, 2021 23:15:31 GMT
New to the game, new to the forum.
I was glad to have found the OPR, and took my time reading the rules for Grimdark Future (and Firefight, but these questions don't relate to that specific variety of game) in detail. Also, I took the liberty to print all the army lists, and couldn't help starting to compare them with the codex books from from the GF inspiration. I noticed... important differences.
For example, the Human Defense Force is basically the IG.
But being able to take the squads in fives, rather than tens (and then combining them into the more 'regular' 10-men squads) was an interesting choice. As well as giving all members of those 5-men squads assault rifles, with the option to 'upgrade' one of them to a IG style sergeant with a pistol and a close combat weapon. But upgrading and combining options did leave me with a few questions (though some are hunches where I have a thought or opinion which I might just want to see confirmed or denied).
Infantry Squad. 5 troopers.
I can upgrade one by replacement of the assault rifle and (A1) CCW with a pistol and a (A2) CCW. One model can get a field radio, banner of medical training, and one model can get a special weapon upgrade. This leaves 2 regular troopers in there. So much is clear.
Option F allows me to upgrade the squad by the addition of a weapon team model. This would bring the squad to 6 models. But just what is a weapon team model defined as? 2 soldier models and a heavy weapon on a single base? 60mm or 40mm? Or just any option I choose myself? (Seeing as to how GaWo put photos in their own 8th edition IG codex with a heavy weapons team consisting of two separate miniatures each on their own 25mm base, a missile launcher trooper and a separate loader.)
I have two - almost - identical squads. Asume them to be like the squad I used as an example in my first question. 1 'sergeant', 1 special weapon trooper, 2 basic troopers, and 1 other trooper. In squad 1 I upgraded one with a field radio, and in squad 2 I upgraded one trooper with medical training. Can I combine these squads during setup? It appears I can, as there is not a single upgrade there that would have applied to the entire squad (such as Battle Brothers veteran infantry ability upgrades).
Interestingly, this combining would cdause two 'sergeants' to end up in one combined squad (I know there is no real game effect to calling them sergeants, I could call one sergeant and the other corporal, the only real effect would be for the combined squad to have two models with a pistol and CCW loadout.
Same question, but now the two squads to be combined are completely identical. I upgraded both Infantry Squads with medical training. Can I combine them? Also, what would the effect be of combining these squads with regards to their Regeneration? Still one roll for each hit that got through Def? Or two rolls, as there would now be two medics in the combined unit?
(those last questions arose after reading the Prime Brothers lists, and seeing how they have the Prime special rule, and they can get medical training, where Prime mention it stacks with Regeneration, while it, in fact, provides a limited scope regeneration itself.)
Careful reading of the list to see if I made no faulty assumptions for my questions here, I noticed something else. Infantry squads, special weapons and veteran squads all have a basic CCW (A1). Upgrade option A has two categories. One replaces both the assault rifle and the CCW, the other category only replaces a CCW. Upgrades A doesn't seem limited to a single model. So, could I have an Infantry Squad (or special, or veteran) where I have one model running around with a pistol and CCW (A2) - making this a sort of sergeant - and another model with an assault rifle and energy sword or energy fist? (Come to think of this, perhaps call the pistol and CCW trooper a corporal, and the energy weapon dude a sergeant.)
A light APC has the Transport (11) capability. This seems clear enough (it is, by itself, actually), but how does this interact with a combined Infantry Squad? (Keeping in mind the questions I had about weapon teams.)
Two basic Infantry Squads equals ten models, so that would fit. Adding a weapon team to one of them before combining adds "one model", so that would fit in the 11th transport slot, I asume? If both Infantry Squads have a weapons team added, the total number of models would be 12 in the combined squad. Too much for the Light APC, I would say.
Related, and therefor asked here... There doesn't seem to be a size characteristic. Not for models (based on model size or base size), not for the Transport special rule. I would never, ever, even suggest to transport 11 Battle Tank models inside a single Light APC, and somebody suggesting this would likely incurr a gentle smack on the back of their heads from me. But how about Ogre Squads? Can a combined Ogre squad (only 6 models) fit inside a Light APC (Transport capacity of 11 models)? Can a hero model be added to one (or both) such Ogre Squads (racking up the actual model count to only 8, possibly)? Can a Cavalry Squad (either singular or combined) fit inside a Light APC? (Knowing that in real life wars cavalry - and comparable biker units - have been transported aboard aquatic landing vehicles).
Quite a read, quite a few questions. Perhaps more to follow.
Thanks in advance for your time, reading, and insight!