AoF:S Campaign Question: Unit Death and Disbanding Feb 23, 2022 14:30:04 GMT
Post by myrddin on Feb 23, 2022 14:30:04 GMT
Hello! I've got a question about the AoF:S Campaign rules.
When a unit dies or is disbanded, do I get back the points I spent to recruit the unit, or are they lost? So far, I've found several arguments which support either interpretation, but couldn't find a clear answer in the rules.
In favor of the points being lost:
- Selling upgrades usually gives you back only 50% of the points that they originally cost. This means things would get confusing if a unit that dies or was disbanded had any upgrades. It would also mean it's a little bit safer to invest points into new units rather than into upgrades, since the latter would come with a risk of losing the points permanently while the former wouldn't.
In favor of the points being kept:
- If disbanding a unit would mean that the points it was bought for are completely lost, there would be no logical reason to ever disband a unit (as you would get absolutely nothing for doing so), which would mean that there would be no reason for the disbanding rules to exist in the first place.
- Given how the rules state that no warband is allowed to go into battle with more than 50 points' worth of units more than the weakest warband in the match, it would be in no one's interest to permanently reduce the size of another player's warband by a significant amount — if I kill too many enemy units, that would mean my own warband shrinks too. This seems counter-intuitive.
- The "No Permadeath" optional rule allows units to keep their upgrades and previously-earned XP, which means that even if the points spent on buying a unit are kept upon death, this optional rule's existence still makes sense.
At the moment, the answer I consider most likely to be true is that upon a unit's death or disbanding, you get back the points it cost to recruit it, but any points you invested in upgrading it are lost. However, as I can't really find anything about this in the rules (it looks to me like the rules just assume the answer, whatever it is, to be self-evident), it'd be great if I could get another opinion or two.