Hello everyone, yesterday we played our first match and a question about splitting fire with snipers popped up to which I didn`t find anything in the forum so far. I know that house ruling is always an option but I'm interessted in your point of view. I played an alien hive army and had a unit of winged grunts. Two of them were equipped with sniper rifles. Since they are a seperate weapon group they are allowed to split fire and attack a different unit than the rest of their squad:
Each weapon group may fire at a different target, howeverall weapons from the same group must fire at the same target.
Now the question: Are two snipers allowed to hit different targets in the same unit? That they aren`t allowed to hit different units seems clear to me but what about different models? The Sniper Rule states as follows:
Models firing weapons with this special rule count as having Quality 2+ when rolling to hit, and the attacker may pick one model from the target unit as its target.
Are both of them allowed to pick one model or do both of them fire at the same model?
Danke für eure Antworten und eure Rücksicht auf einen Nichtmuttersprachler. (Thanks for your replies and your thoughtfullness regarding a nonnative speaker.)